Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2

Ok, so, this review has definitely been a long time coming, and I’ll be completely honest with what happened. I managed to get to see this film at a midnight opening with a packed-out screen and loads of people really excited to see it. Thing is, that was in a place that was nearly an hours drive away from where I actually live, and as such I didn’t get home until nearly 4 in the AM. Not only that, I worked over the weekend of it’s release and then went on a two week holiday immediately afterwards. So, while I realise that this review is pretty much going up just as the film itself is leaving cinemas, I felt that I should still put up a few short thoughts about it considering this is possibly the biggest film release of this generation and has managed to surpass all the box office records of any other film ever. If that doesn’t deserve a blog post, I don’t know what does!

Basically, I thought Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2 did a great job of tying everything up at the end. This is the film that people have been waiting 10 whole years to see, and it’s finally here and managed to leave everything behind without any regrets. The showing I went to, people came out in floods of tears at the fact that their childhood had practically ended, and it did make me think that the Potter films have been dominating box offices everywhere for some time now, so its likely that there will be a massive Potter-shaped whole in many cinemas takings for a few years to come now. Not only that, but there are many people around the world who will find it hard to let go of such a phenomenally huge franchise after actually growing up with it.

What I liked about the film (apart from the fact that I saw it in 2D and could appreciate all the visuals for what they were) was how much resolve you get to see throughout the entire film. So many different threads and storylines get tied up that you remember why you started liking certain characters in the first place. Top of the list, rightly enough, is Alan Rickman as Snape. Even though he dies, his journey comes full circle and you actually realise that he’s been one of the good guys the whole time.

While I was hoping for a bit more of a spectacle over Voldemort’s death, the fact that it did happen in a dramatic way and not just a magical *shazam* and he’s dead did make you feel like everything was finally over, even though he probably deserved a much more overblown ending to his evil ways.

One scene that annoyed me a little (and apparently some others out there too) was the very last scene, set many years later. It’s not the fact that it was in there, as it had to be to round everything off, but more how all the actors looked when aged. It was almost done in a bit of a lazy way as they mostly just gave them different haircuts and gave Ron a pot belly. I think many people were expecting something a little more from the very last scene of a worldwide phenomenon, but perhaps in hindsight it’s better that it was that scene that had people complaining rather than something much more significant.

Anyway, the fact is that Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2 got a 7 out of 10 from me for being the kind of ending to such a monumentally huge saga that can’t really draw any complaints, as it tied everything off in a satisfying way. And ending peoples childhoods in the process, too.

2 Comments

  1. I agree with you..

    • Thanks. I agree too.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

