Boring Bank Holidays!

That’s right, its a Bank Holiday, and the weather outside is pretty much the opposite of what you’d want a Bank Holiday to be. It’s cold, cloudy and the air is thick with moisture – so definitely not April Barbeque kind of weather! I mean, no-where is open, and people I know are either still away at uni, or are swamped with work (which is fine, because that’s what they’re paying the extortionate tuition fees for!). So, instead of going out and cooking raw meat on an open fire and smelling of smoke for days afterwards, I figured I’d kill some boredom by leaving another post on here, just as a sort of update on things.

I did actually go and see X-Men Origins: Wolverine  the other day, but I didn’t want to run home and put up a post about it, because it would have been less of a review and more of a rant. And no-one really wants to read my thousand-word-strong bitching about the intricacies of comic book adaptation movies, do they? Feel free to contradict me, if you must! There were a few things that I wasn’t fond of though – mainly that Gambit, although he started with a slight accent when you first see him, wasn’t really Cajun enough and slowly drops what little accent he had. It’s not a big deal really, but it made it harder to picture Taylor Kitsch actually as BEING Gambit. Also, there were things about Deadpool that they messed with right at the end that didn’t really add up properly, which was a shame because Deadpool is such a great character in the books. The whole film basically played out like Comic Book Top Trumps – Wolverine VS Sabretooth = Lose; Wolverine VS Blob = Win; Wolverine VS Armoured Truck + Machine Gun + Helicopter = WIN! I mean, that’s fine if that’s what you’re paying for (i.e. polished Hollywood script, exploding scenes with The Jackman casually walking away from the fires, his hair just ruffled enough to imply there was effort, etc), just don’t go to see it expecting a long, intricate plot detailing his entire existence. Or, much plot at all, really…

Anyway, now that that’s out of the way, there are other things happening soon that I’m looking forward to. Firstly, Madina Lake‘s new album Attics To Eden is out today (and I forgot that it actually was out today!) so I’ll have to order that soon and give that a listen as it’s been going down pretty well among the music critics! And in about another weeks time, Green Day release their new album 21st Century Breakdown, so I’m getting excited about listening to that as well, since it’s meant to be great material! Unfortunately, there doesn’t seem to be any live gigs coming up anytime soon, since a lot of bands that are on tour aren’t coming down to the South Coast at all. Plus, the price of festival tickets seem to constantly be on the rise (they’re only just now putting Day tickets to Download Festival on sale, and Sonisphere is easily about £150 per ticket!), so at the moment it looks like the next show I’ll be going to will be The Answer  in December. Which is fine, because I’d easily wait that long to see them! But apart from that, to all the bands that are thinking of touring – seriously, venture down South a bit more, ok?!

So, yes, that’s what’s coming up, but as far as things go right now, they’re much the same. I haven’t done much more writing recently, but I hope to change that soon. Even so, I’ll hopefully add some script samples to a page on here when I work out which sample will look best. Also, perhaps if I can work on them, some more photos maybe.

And that’s about it. Boredom = Killed. Until I buy my next album, or see a film worth a review, go about your business!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

