I Found This On HMV…

Ever heard of a band called The Vitamin String Quartet? No, I wouldn’t have thought so. But if you have, then welcome to this little cult-y post I’m putting up here! Anyway, PURELY by accident, I stumbled across something possibly quite wonderful on HMV.com while I was browsing for some music downloads.

Now, firstly, I must say that the first time I was introduced to this band was on the New Nightmare Before Christmas soundtrack, Nightmare Revisited, which was released in Autumn last year to coincide with the re-release of the Special Edition DVD. Anyway, this soundtrack had a whole bunch of bands covering the original songs from the film (For the record, Marilyn Manson’s cover of This Is Halloween is completely amazing and only makes me love Halloween EVEN more! And you just haven’t heard KoRn until you’ve heard their cover of Kidnap The Sandy Claws – insane!), and The Vitamin String Quartet did The Jack And Sally Montage. At the time, I just simply thought it was a classical string quartet that were deemed good enough to be included on a soundtrack with a bunch of rock covers.

OH, how wrong I was!!

It turns out that The Vitamin String Quartet are a band similar to Apocalyptica in the sense that they are a rock band that focus entirely on the use of classical strings in exchange for the usual electric guitars and drums. It also turns out that they are an entirely unique band in the way that their main selling point is that they do covers of well-known rock songs and tributes to significant rock artists. How did I stumble across them? Well, I recognised the name when it came up as a list of possible downloads for Audioslave‘s song Cochise. So I, being the curious person that I am, sampled the song and heard a thirty second snippet of it. “Hey, you know what?” I thought to myself, “For a band that just uses strings and do covers, this actually rocks pretty hard. Let’s see what else they do.” So I clicked the link to all the other albums they have made. And then I discovered something that DAMN NEAR took my breath away.

Anyone that knows me, KNOWS of my love for the band that IS Paramore. Seriously, I can’t even begin to tell you how much! (Paramore = Number 1!) So, imagine my entire glee when I found out that The Vitamin String Quartet have an entire album called Strung Out On Paramore – A String Quartet Tribute, which is them doing classical covers of Paramore songs, including my two favourites Misery Business and Pressure, no less! “This is absolutely sensational!” I thought to myself once more “You know what? This actually deserves to have a customer review written about it!” (Disclaimer – I have been tempted to write reviews for Paramore on HMV.com before, but the ones that were already there were mostly kids talking “in text” about how much they love Josh Farro and Hayley Williams, and I didn’t want to stick out like a sore thumb!!). Anyway, here’s basically what I put:

A Classic Take On Modern Rock. – “The reason I like Paramore so much is that their songs have the ability to bring out all these emotions with the dynamics and lyrics of their songs. THIS, however, is like listening to Paramore on a whole different level of emotions. The strings add a whole new element to listening to the same songs that made me so happy to listen to before. At first, I thought this was a joke, but this is obviously a serious band that does genuine covers in a classical string style. Very Original.”

Anyway, I felt this had to be shared. Apparently they do tributes to all kinds of artists, from Aerosmith to The Cure, from Avenged Sevenfold to Janet Jackson! I’m going to look into what else they do, but so far, this isn’t at all bad!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

